In anticipation of Tropical Depression Harvey’s landfall, Texas Governor Greg Abbott has declared a State of Disaster for 30 counties.

According to the National Hurricane Center (NHC), the storm will advance toward the northwest over the next 48 hours from southern Gulf of Mexico.

“Some strengthening is forecast during the next 48 hours, and Harvey could become a hurricane on Friday,” the NHC said.

Harvey shows threats prolonged heavy rain and “life-threatening flooding” for portions of the coast from northeastern Mexico to southern Louisiana into the coming week. In connection to this, the governor had also ordered the State Operations Center to increase its readiness level as the possible storm approaches.

Meanwhile, the following counties under the State of Disaster are as follows: Aransas, Austin, Bee, Calhoun, Chambers, Colorado, Brazoria, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Harris, Jackson, Jefferson, Jim Wells, Karnes, Kleberg, Lavaca, Liberty, Live Oak, Matagorda, Nueces, Refugio, San Patricio, Victoria, Walle, Wharton, and Wilson.